24 Hour Gaming Marathon: The Schedule

I used to love making up mix tapes. I’d spend hours picking the right selection of tracks and the order they’d go in: would The Pixies sit well with Stevie Wonder? Does Henry Rollins sound ok next to Bob Dylan? I’d agonise over this sort of thing for ages, which is why I can see the schedule I’m making up for the Sick Kids Save Point gaming marathon being an event in itself.

I’ve picked out a few things to do so far although I can see them changing as the date gets closer. They range from finishing games that have got put to one side and never picked back up again (sorry, Crackdown), getting to a milestone level in World of Warcraft (an everyday task for some of its players) or finding a load of collectables hidden about a huge game world (except Banjo Kazooie: Nuts & Bolts, that’d just be silly).

One suggestion that was made to me was picking some games that really would be a challenge in as much as no sane person would normally go out of their way to actually play them.  So, fool that I am, I’ve enlisted the help of the lovely guys and gals over on GRcade to come up with a list of truly awful abominations of game design that will test my gaming ability and sanity over the course of the 24 hours.

So far, they’ve come up with the following:

KISS Pinball
Kengo Zero
Garbage Truck Simulator 2011
ET (Atari 2600)
Superman 64
Barbie’s Horse Adventures
Desert Bus
Garden Simulator

Spellbinding!

I’m going to set up a poll on the site in the weeks leading up to the marathon and will let them pick the three worst titles from the list. I’ll then choose three slots during the day and spend an hour each playing them. Not enough you say? Believe me, I spent five minutes playing ET and that was just about enough to put me off gaming forever.

Any more suggestions (or donations) are welcome!

2 thoughts on “24 Hour Gaming Marathon: The Schedule

    • Hmmm, not a bad idea. I’m trying to come up with ways of getting the forumites involved, that could be one!

      Cheers.

Leave a Reply

