Sick Kids Save Point

I mentioned below that the hospital staff had been a great help while our son stayed there and I’d been looking at a way of giving something back via some form of fund raising. Imagine my surprise, delight and “You’ve gotta be kidding me!” style comments when I happened upon this after a quick google search:

Seeking Brave Gamers!

They’ve also got a blog going which has some more info on the Sick Kids Save Point as a whole.

Talk about right up my street! This is the second year running that these guys have organised this and they’re going to try and top their already impressive total of £7,000 with a staggering £10,000. All the funds go to the Sick Kids Friends Foundation, the charity linked to the Edinburgh Sick Kids Hospital, and will help fund new equipment and facilities for other children and families using the hospital.

A 24 Hour Gaming Marathon is probably more suited to my physical abilities (let’s face it, can you really see me running one?) so, of course, I was only too happy to help.

I’ve set up my own JustGiving page for anyone who would like to sponsor me.

Coupling the lack of sleep with the fact that my, once impressive gaming skills are no more, this will be a test of endurance that surely only the most hardcore of gamers has undertaken before. Plus, it’s for a really good cause.

My JustGiving page

I’ll update this with the schedule in the following weeks. You can also follow me on twitter to catch up on any training that might take place.

I believe the saying is “It’s on like Donkey Kong”. How appropriate 🙂

Leave a Reply

