What a difference a day makes…

“Dear Sirs,

I am writing this letter to express my shock and disbelief at what has happened today.

I returned home from my place of work to find a whacking great big hole in my garden.”

My word, the builders were busy today! They used a digger (pictured) and the old fashioned method of hard graft to clear out the trenches for the foundations to go in. There’s a slight problem as the pipes don’t seem to go where the plans suggest they do. This means a bit of a change of plan in terms of where they need to dig up but there’s not really much we can do, it needs done.

We’re both fine about it though, the builder’s been really good at explaining what he needs to do, if a problem arises, he’s been honest about it rather than sugar coating it.

What it does mean is that a large section of our front garden will need ot be dug up, as well as what’s already been done at the side. He’s going to lay down gangplanks for us to get in and out though. I’m just glad I don’t have any late night sessions at the pub scheduled, those holes are pretty deep!

Check out all that rubble! One skip had already been filled and taken away by this point.

Check out all that rubble! One skip had already been filled and taken away by this point.

As much as I begged and pleaded, I wasn't allowed a shot. :o(

As much as I begged and pleaded, I wasn't allowed a shot. 😦

The wall that you can see towards the left of the picture is actually a foundation of another building. No hobbits found yet. I don't know how old it would be, but it's pretty cool nonetheless.

The wall that you can see towards the left of the picture is actually a foundation of another building. No hobbits found yet. I don't know how old it would be, but it's pretty cool nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

